Wellness Wednesday: Week 4

Posted on May 29, 2019 in Environmental Responsibility, Massage, Products, Promotions, Services, Uncategorized, Wellness Wednesday

Welcome to our first Wellness Wednesday series focusing on the 7 chakras. Each week will be focused on a specific chakra, related wellness rituals and chakra balancing aromas.


Q: What are chakras?

“The chakra system is the symbolic presentation of energies which exist in the body influenced by the subconscious mind. Yoga and meditation help you awaken those energies for the most balanced state of the body, mind and soul.”

-The Drs. Upadhyay, Maharshi Bhardwaj Clinic & Research Centre, India Consultants to Aveda since 1976

Based on Ayruveda, a 5,000 year-old healing tradition from India, chakras can be described as 7 spinning wheels of energy that affect your health, well-being and beauty. These 7 chakras are aligned along the spine, starting at the base of the spine and continuing to the crown of the head. Because everything is in constant motion, it is imperative that these 7 chakras remain open, stay in alignment, and maintain a fluid motion. If one of these chakras are blocked, energy cannot flow.






Chakra 3: Harmony

Chakra 4 is the center of sympathy, empathy and love.

When the heart chakra is balanced, one feels love and connection to self and others.

When the heart chakra is imbalanced, one feels depression, loss of connection and lack of caring.


Location of Heart Chakra: Center of chest just above the heart.

Aroma: Organic Sandalwood, Mandarin, and Palmarosa

Element: Air

Color: Green



Most green fruits and vegetables are effective in stimulating and vitalizing the heart center.

Incorporate more of these green colored fruits and vegetables into your daily nourishment. Some of these foods are: leafy greens, kale, collards, broccoli, green pears, green peas, green apples, spinach, celery, limes and honeydew melon.




This is the fourth, or heart center chakra meditation, To enhance your experience spray the harmonizing blend of Aveda Chakra 4 balancing body mist with mandarin and sandalwood.

As you focus on deep diaphragmatic breaths, focus your attention on the heart chakra located in the center of your chest. This is the center of sympathy, compassion and love. Notice how your heart center feels. As you focus on this center, think of someone you love — it could be a partner, family member, friend or pet — and notice how your heart chakra changes. As you continue to concentrate on the sensations of love, allow them to expand beyond the heart center and permeate your entire body. Now let go of the thought of this person, and experience how the sensations of love feel in your body. Whenever you are feeling stressed or overworked, remember these sensations are only a thought and a breath away.


I love myself in every area of my life
I give love and love comes back to me
I deserve love, happiness and prosperity in all areas of my life
My emotions are balanced and in harmony with my energy


Yoga Poses
Head to Knee Forward Fold

View more about Aveda Chakras on the Mr. Chakra website by clicking here