Wellness Wednesday: Week 1

Posted on May 8, 2019 in Products, Promotions, Uncategorized, Wellness Wednesday

Welcome to our first Wellness Wednesday series focusing on the 7 chakras. Each week will be focused on a specific chakra, related wellness rituals and chakra balancing aromas.


Q: What are chakras?

“The chakra system is the symbolic presentation of energies which exist in the body influenced by the subconscious mind. Yoga and meditation help you awaken those energies for the most balanced state of the body, mind and soul.”

-The Drs. Upadhyay, Maharshi Bhardwaj Clinic & Research Centre, India Consultants to Aveda since 1976

Based on Ayruveda, a 5,000 year-old healing tradition from India, chakras can be described as 7 spinning wheels of energy that affect your health, well-being and beauty. These 7 chakras are aligned along the spine, starting at the base of the spine and continuing to the crown of the head. Because everything is in constant motion, it is imperative that these 7 chakras remain open, stay in alignment, and maintain a fluid motion. If one of these chakras are blocked, energy cannot flow.









Chakra 1: Grounded

Chakra 1 is the center where we ground ourselves and take care of our basic needs. When the root chakra is balanced, one has good energy, a feeling of security and a healthy body awareness. When the root chakra is imbalanced, one feels lethargy, resistance to change and the need to slow down.


Location of Root Chakra: Base of spine, near tailbone

Aroma: Organic patchouli, vetiver and olibanum

Element: Earth

Color: Red

Most red colored fruits and vegetables are effective in stimulating and vitalizing the root center.

Incorporate more red and pink colored fruits and vegetables into your daily nourishment. Some of these foods are: tomatoes, watermelon, beets, cranberries, cherries, strawberries, red apples, red beans, radishes, red bell pepper, raspberries and red-skinned potatoes.

This is the first, or root chakra meditation. To enhance your experience spray the grounding blend of Aveda Chakra™ 1 balancing body mist with vetiver olibanum and patchouli.
Focus on deep diaphragmatic breaths so that as you inhale your abdomen expands and as you exhale your abdomen contracts. Bring your awareness into the base of your spine. This is the first or root chakra. This is the center of your basic needs and helps you ground yourself in the physical body. As you focus on this center, visualize a spinning wheel of red energy.
Allow your mind to settle into the body, noticing the sensations that you feel. Bring your awareness into your feet, then your ankles, legs, and hips. Now focus on your abdomen and back and into your shoulders, down your arms to your hands. The root chakra helps you move away from the thoughts in your head so that you listen to the wisdom of the body. Now silently repeat the word “grounding” to yourself. Whatever grounding means to you allow yourself to feel more grounded.

I accept all the abundance in my life
I nourish my mind, body and spirit
My energy is grounded to bring in a healthy energy flow
I have everything that I need for an abundant life

Yoga Poses

Warrior Yoga PoseTriangle Yoga PoseEagle Yoga Pose







View more about Aveda Chakras on the Mr. Chakra website by clicking here